Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.


The Boy Scout movement came to Good Shepherd in 1947 when Troop 728 opened its doors. The Troop flourished with a membership of over 150 boys under three dedicated Scoutmasters: George Karsh (1947-1954), Frank Bond (1955-1970) and John Sweeney (1970-1973).

Bill Coughlin and William Hunter (our first Eagle Scout) each served as Scoutmaster for a year until 1975. The next Scoutmaster, Charles Lopez served for twelve years. With the help of many assistants such as Bill Milam, Mark Macagnone, and Jason Tormo the Troop was rebuilt into a unit that is respected throughout the parish and the community.

In 1987, another of our Eagle Scouts, Erik Martir, became Scoutmaster and carried on the tradition of service to the community and the youths of Inwood. In 1989, John Ward, a member of the Troop since 1976 and an Eagle Scout, became Scoutmaster. In 1994, Eagle Scout Bosco Chao stepped into the position of Scoutmaster as John Ward moved into the role of committee member. In September of 1998, Efrain Alvarado assumed the role of Scoutmaster.

In October of 2003, Terence Dolan, became Scoutmaster. Terence was the 5th Eagle Scout of the Troop to assumed the role of Scoutmaster. He carries on the traditions of the Troop, including Scout Breakfast, summer camp, and monthly trips or hikes.

Troop 728 has so far produced 28 Eagle Scouts, the most prestigious award that any young man or woman can earn.

In addition to the personal skills each boy and girl develops, Scouts BSA stresses leadership skills which help to develop leaders of society for the 21st century. Naturally, the traditional camping skills and the concept of teamwork are big parts of Scouts BSA. At Troop 728 all this is accomplished in an atmosphere of caring and with a keen view for fun!

© 2020 Troop 728 - Boy Scouts of America | WordPress Admin